Travelers on the Path of Knowledge

Knowledge is an ocean and a few drops just aren’t enough. -Unknown

BACK Biting May 31, 2007

Filed under: Funny,Islam — musaafir @ 10:21 pm

Thanks Geeta for pointing this out to me- one of the funnier SunniPath questions I’ve seen (right up there with the MSA girls are so stupid question):

If I literally bite my brother on his back, would that be considered backbiting? Would I have t
Answered by Shaykh Faraz Rabbani, SunniPath Academy Teacher

If I literally bite my brother on his back, would that be considered backbiting? Would I have to restart my muraqaba dars?

Walaikum assalam wa rahmatullah,

If he enjoys it, it is fine in private, but unmanly in public.

If with desire, haram.

If he does not like it, then it is disliked.

If it causes pain, it would be prohibitively disliked.

If it causes serious harm, it would be haram.

In none of the cases would it be considered backbiting, unless it uncovers something about your brother that he does not like uncovered (such as a phobia or physical/emotional weakness).

And Allah knows best.

Wassalam,

Faraz Rabbani

 

One Response to “BACK Biting”

  1. HijabiApprentice Says:

    LMHO!!! (laughing my hijab off) @ If he enjoys it, it is fine in private, but unmanly in public.


Leave a Reply

