Travelers on the Path of Knowledge

Knowledge is an ocean and a few drops just aren’t enough. -Unknown

Ten Things We Waste August 18, 2006

Filed under: Islam,Reflections — musaafir @ 12:57 am

Stolen from here:
1. Our Knowledge

Wasted by not taking action with it.

2. Our Actions:

Wasted by committing them with out sincerity.

3. Our Wealth:

Wasted by using on things that will not bring us ajr. We waste our money, our status, our authority, on things which have no benefit in this life or in akhirah.

4. Our Hearts:

Wasted because they are empty from the love of Allah, and the feeling of longing to go to Him, and a feeling of peace and contentment. In it’s place, our hearts are filled with something or someone else.

5. Our Bodies:

Wasted because we don’t use them in ibadah and service ofAllah.

6. Our Love:

Our emotional love is misdirected, not towards Allah, but towards something/someone else.

7. Our Time:

Wasted, not used properly, to compensate for that which had passed, by doing what is righteous to make up for past deeds.

8. Our Intellect:

Wasted on things that are not beneficial, that are detremental to society and the individual, not in contemplation or reflection.

9. Our Service:

Wasted in service of someone who will not bring us closer to Allah, or benefit in dunyaa.

10. Our Dhikr:

Wasted, because it does not effect us or our hearts.

 

10 Responses to “Ten Things We Waste”

  1. Hammad Din Says:

    Mashah allah. I like the post. Though I have some questions/comments πŸ™‚

    “6. Our Love:

    Our emotional love is misdirected, not towards Allah, but towards something/someone else.”

    Can we direct our love towards our parents, siblings, relatives for the sake of Allah? So I mean if our love is directed someone for the sake of Allah ( because Allah tellls us that it is their right) then I think the love is not wasted?

    “8. Our Intellect:

    Wasted on things that are not beneficial, that are detremental to society and the individual, not in contemplation or reflection.”

    I think our intellect should also be used in conjunction with Waste # 2( talking like an Env. Consultant here) i.e. action. As in our intellect should be used to put our words into action.

    “9. Our Service:

    Wasted in service of someone who will not bring us closer to Allah, or benefit in dunyaa.”

    I dont fully understand this point could you explain furthur?

    Sorry if I sound too picky/critcal. I really like your post but I wanna understand things better inshah allah…:)

  2. Munzareen Says:

    Brother Hammad,

    I’ll explain a bit further from what I understand. If anything is wrong it is surely from me and anything right is from Allah.

    β€œ6. Our Love:

    Our emotional love is misdirected, not towards Allah, but towards something/someone else.”

    You’re right. Love for the sake of Allah is fine and not wasted. When we love out parents and respect them because Allah commanded us to, that is fine. When we love our friends because their characteristics remind us of Allah, that is good. One of the people who will be under the shade of Allah will be the one who loved another purely for the sake of Allah.

    β€œ8. Our Intellect:

    Wasted on things that are not beneficial, that are detremental to society and the individual, not in contemplation or reflection.”

    I agree with you here as well. Action should come with knowledge or intellect. There are things we do however that are not beneficial to our spiritual state. For instance, studying in college to make good money– not good. Studying in college to make enough money to support your family thereby fulfilling a responsibility placed on you by your deen. Good. It’s not so much ONLY learning about Islam because Allah placed a passion for different things in different people. It’s the intentions behind it that matter. Also, we shouldn’t neglect studying the deen for the pursuit of worldly knowledge.

    β€œ9. Our Service:

    Wasted in service of someone who will not bring us closer to Allah, or benefit in dunyaa.”

    When we service someone without proper intention this doesn’t bring us closer to Allah. For instance, the wife who does everything for her husband but neglects prayer because she is servicing her husband. When we work for people who are working against the deen again it’s detrimental. Also, when we do our work to fulfill our responsibilities to our families this is something that is for the sake of Allah.

    You’re making me shaky about my understanding. I feel like I don’t even know what this means. I might have to look furhter into this. lol.

    JazakAllah Khair for your repsonses (and for your answers Aisha)

    Mas’Salaam,
    Munzareen

  3. MilkShaykh Says:

    MashaAllah, a great post! Motivates you to actually work hard to reform yourself and clean your heart for the sake of Allah…

    Something actually nice to read; doesn’t raise your blood pressure too much, heehee!

  4. hammadin Says:

    Aishah: Sorry i mised the referal at the beginning of the post to your blog. mahshah allah i liked your post very much..

    Munzareen: Mashah allah thank you for your detailed comments. They have helped my understanding as well πŸ™‚

    I do like your blog mashah allah. If I am allowed to then I would categorize you as political sister..(if I recall correctly from you SP intro poly science is your half major so it makes sense)which I believe-is a rare sight since most sisters I knew/know through Islamic work were not political at all.hmmm..

  5. They might’ve helped you, but I confused myself.. lol πŸ™‚

    Thanks.. You are correct. Political Science (with a concentration in International Relations.. if you couldn’t tell) is my other major. I have a passion for this stuff. πŸ™‚

    I like your bog, too except I hadn’t seen anything new on it. By the way, I had come across it before SP but when you mentioned it on the forum I started visiting it more.

  6. Hammad Din Says:

    “I like your bog, too except I hadn’t seen anything new on it. ”

    As in my postings arent that original or substantial or I dont update it often enough?

  7. As in.. you don’t update like I do. 3 posts in one day. πŸ™‚ lol. (one was not from me, but from lena– the other blogger on this site)

  8. Hammad Din Says:

    I was more frequent when I was a student in University. ( thats where you are right now).Harder to blog when one works. :)—plus I have no tag team partner who updates my blog too. πŸ˜› lol

  9. Thanks. I needed to be reminded that I’m still in college. :-D.

    You’re still pretty young tho. If you don’t have time now, then you’re only going to get busier in life. lol.

  10. islam Says:

    As-salaamu ‘alaikum,

    Please email me.

    W/s


Leave a Reply

